Not sure this is interesting. It caught my eye because we are about to start exams soon and it could be potentially helpful for students. Not that any students read this space. Nonetheless, discussing it helps me think about it and in turn encourages me to discuss it with my students. By brining attention to it they might benefit. Seems fairly straightforward and I would assume that everyone does this right? Perhaps not. So read on.

One way to improve this issue is to self-test, says Rawson. After reading or studying information, wait for a short time; then try to recall or summarize the information from memory. Next, check the information recalled against the original source material. Adds Rawson: “Our research consistently shows that without checking, people often believe they’ve remembered something correctly when in fact they haven’t.”

Do middle-school students understand how well they actually learn?

Blogged with Flock

