I have already written about the recent release of the new volume of Evolution: Education and Outreach. I have been browsing the contents for useful items from an educational biology perspective. Having taught AP biology a few years I really would have liked having T.R Gregory’s acrticle available to me. It is a very nice summary of how to read an evolutionary tree. I particularly like how he has addressed a series of misconceptions. If you are a biology teacher, or perhaps not, I’m sure there is something in the article you can use. While browsing my favorite feeds, I have noticed many of the big bio bloggers have mentioned the release of the volume.

He also includes the teacher activity on Caminalcules. I have not used that one myself but seen it. I thought it was a bit too much cut and paste. Time better spent doing some learning. However, I’ll try to find an activity I used that first expected students to count shared derived characteristics and create a cladogram of their own. Part 1. The follow up activity had them examine some gene sequences of cytochrome – c and count diffferences to verify [hopefully] their original tree. Part 2. Both of these are found at the Evolution and the Nature of Science Institutes at Indiana University. Bunch less cutting and pasting.

I was just browing the ENSi site for the first time in a few years and I really want to stress you to check it out. Lots of great activities which are our a teacher’s bread and butter. Makes me wish I wish teaching biology again. Well I AM looking for a new teaching position. Anyone know where they need a ‘decent’, teachnologically innovative, all round science guy?

Enjoy the March break!

Powered by ScribeFire.

